About Us

About Us

The Gertrude Stein Democratic Club is the voice of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) Democrats in the District of Columbia. Established in 1976, Gertrude Stein is one of the oldest Democratic clubs in the District and is a founding chapter of the National Stonewall Democrats. The Gertrude Stein Democratic Club maintains active members in each of the 8 wards of the District of Columbia. Click here for the organization's by laws. And click here for the group's mission.


From left: Earl Fowlkes, Monika Nemeth, Kent Boese, Thomas Yabroff, and Jatarious Frazier

On November 18, 2019, the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club held its elections for its 2020 Board of Directors.  Our new leaders are:

Kent Boese, President

Kent Boese (he/him) has served on Advisory Neighborhood Commission 1A since January 2011 and as the Commission’s Chair since July 2013. He is also a member of the LGBTQ Rainbow Caucus which is a pan-District group of ANC Commissioners who collaborate on LGBTQ issues. In Kent’s decade of public service to the Columbia Heights, Park View, and Pleasant Plains neighborhoods, he has learned that balancing the needs of the community with the best interests of the entire District can be challenging. Kent was a candidate in the 2018 race for the Ward 1 Council seat where he garnered over 25% of the vote and carried his home precinct. He continues to advocate for equitable policies and solutions and frequently testifies before government boards and the Council of the District of Columbia.

Monika Nemeth, Vice President for Legislative Affairs

Jatarious Frazier, Vice President for Administration

Jatarious Frazier is passionate about advancing progressive and inclusive legislative policies. He has resided in Wards 4, 5, and 7 during his time in DC. Jatarious is a graduate of Houston Baptist University, where he earned a dual degree in Political Science and Spanish. After a tenure with the City of Houston, Jatarious relocated to DC to take advantage of a legislative internship in the DC office of Congresswoman Louise Slaughter. In addition to serving as the Vice President for Administration for Gertrude Stein, he currently serves as the Executive Vice President for the DC Young Democrats and Vice-Chair for the Ward 5 Democrats. In these leadership roles, he championed issues such as ending youth homelessness, increasing voter engagement, and increased workforce training in DC’s underserved communities. Additionally, Jatarious has advocated DC Statehood in the halls of Congress as well as around the country. Professionally, Jatarious has a background in political fundraising, digital communications strategy, and grassroots organizing. Jatarious currently serves as Special Assistant to the Deputy Mayor for Operations and Infrastructure, where he brings more than a decade of administrative and operations expertise to DC government operations. His favorite things about DC are the city’s rich cultural history, the seemingly limitless supply of delicious food options, and the ability to move throughout the city without a car.

Earl Fowlkes, Treasurer

Earl Fowlkes serves as the President/CEO of the Center For Black Equity, Inc. (formerly the International Federation of Black Pride -IFBP). He founded the IFBP in 1999 ago as a coalition of organizers the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and South Africa formed to promote a multinational network of Black LGBT Pride and community-based organizations. There are over forty plus Black Pride events around the globe with over 250,000 attendees each year. Prior to working at the Center For Black Equity, Earl previously served fifteen years as the Executive Director of the DC Comprehensive AIDS Resources and Education Consortium (DC CARE Consortium) and Damien Ministries, organizations that provided services to Person Living With HIV/AIDS in Washington, DC. Earl has worked on health, political and LGBTQ issues in many communities for nearly thirty years. Earl currently serves as Chair of the DC Commission on Human Rights, and was former chair of the DC Mayor’s GLBT Advisory Committee. Earl has always been politically active focusing on voter registration and getting out the vote activities particularly among communities of color and LGBT Democrats.  In 2009, he was appointed by then Virginia Governor Tim Kaine as an At-Large member of the Democratic National Committee (DNC).  In August 2013, Earl was reappointed, and elected Chair of the DNC LGBT Caucus.  In December 2014, he was elected President of the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club which is the second oldest LGBT Democratic Club in the United States Earl has received numerous honors and awards for his community service, and was named one of three 2013 Grand Marshalls of the Heritage of Pride (NYC Gay Pride) along with Harry Belafonte and Edith Windsor. In September 2014, Earl was given the 2014 Wanda Alston Democratic Service Award by the Gertrude Stein Democratic Club in Washington, DC.  Earl is considered an expert on LGBT and HIV/AIDS issues. He has written numerous articles and op-eds, and has appeared on the Roland Martin and Michael Baisden shows. Earl currently resides in Washington, DC.

Thomas Yabroff, Secretary

Thomas Yabroff (he/him), a proud Ward 1 resident, currently works in the Mayor’s Office of LGBTQ Affairs focusing on community outreach and policy. His most recent political work was as the regional organizing director on the 2018 North Dakota Democratic-Nonpartisan League’s coordinated campaign to re-elect Senator Heidi Heitkamp. Previously, he worked for the Democratic Party of Virginia on the 2016 and 2017 coordinated campaigns as a field organizer, focusing on the elections of Hillary Clinton and the Virginia House of Delegates. He moved to the District in 2016 after graduating with a B.A. in Political Science from Yale University. Thomas is always happy to discuss cartography, DC history, and the intersection of the two and can be found on Sundays volunteering at the DC History Center.